If You Like Horrors & Memoirs & More.... | Dream Big & Buy The Shoes

July 22, 2016

If You Like Horrors & Memoirs & More....

Recently I've taken my Bookworm title back from the hole it was hiding in. I used to read ALL. THE. TIME. At one point I stopped devoting so much time to it, and I'm not sure how it happened. But I'm back, and setting the time aside to get lost in a good book is so much fun.


I thought I would review and share about a few books I've read lately and hopefully do this on an on-going basis. I love getting suggestions from other bloggers so maybe I'll recommend something you may want to read yourself.

You, Caroline Kepnes 5/5

I loved this book. Ashley, from The Wandering Weekenders had mentioned it in a review and I checked it out on Goodreads and decided it definitely needed to be read. It's a psychological thriller about a man Joe, who works in a bookstore and his latest obsession- a beauty that goes by the name of Beck. Joe goes to every length to stalk her and becomes very descriptive in his thoughts. I couldn't put this one down, and finished it in just a few days because I came so enthralled in it. If you love horrors, you'll enjoy this. It's a twisted story, but definitely will make you aware of what you put out there for the world to see in terms of social media. 

Bulletproof, Maci Bookout 4/5

If you have gathered anything about me if you follow on Twitter, then you know I love reality TV. I have watched Teen Mom for years, and always enjoyed Maci's story. She seemed to really have it together despite the troubles she has gone through. I've been wanting to read this for a while and finally did...and it didn't disappoint. While it didn't have me thinking "Oooh what happens next?" it was definitely interesting to hear her thoughts while going through the pregnancy, including how she told her parents as a teenager. I liked this book because it solidified what I like about Maci, and that she has a good head on her shoulders.

Pretty Baby, Mary Kubica 4/5

They said if you liked Girl On The Train, you would enjoy Pretty Baby. I was hoping I wouldn't figure out what was going to happen fairly early on, like I did with Girl On The Train and was happy that didn't happen. This story is about a girl named Willow who is found again after a woman named Heidi catches a glimpse of her from a train. Heidi can't stop thinking about Willow, and the baby she was clutching in her arms. Heidi goes to crazy lengths to take Willow in despite what her family thinks, and the story ends in a way I never saw coming. 

No One Knows, J.T. Ellison 5/5

This has been my favorite read so far the last few months, hands down. Another one I couldn't put down and led me to a night of only 4 hours of sleep it was so good. This story was so sad from the beginning, as it describes what happened the night Aubrey's husband died. No one knows how he died, but when he is finally declared dead by the state she tries to move forward with her life. As she questions everything and thinks about the past as she attempts to live her life. It's hard for her to get through the day to day since she was a major suspect in his murder and still no one knows how it all happened. I was completely shocked by the ending...too good to be true. I would totally read this book all over again. It's like the movies you watch and then re-watch to see if you can catch anything you didn't the first time. A must read!

Turning The Tables: From Housewife to Inmate and Back Again, Teresa Giudice  3/5

Anyone that watches The Real Housewives of New Jersey reality TV show knows that Teresa doesn't have the best way with words. She's often the brunt of jokes for her quirky made up words and phrases that don't make any sense. Because of that I went in to reading this book with no high expectations of grammar, sorry...just being honest. It was okay. Yes, the grammar and writing itself wasn't the best. I did appreciate her telling her story of being behind bars and what she's learned from this entire legal battle. She was imprisoned for fifteen months after being convicted for federal charges. She tells of her life growing up Italian, building her life with her husband, the fame and craziness behind the #RHONJ show on Bravo and more. I really enjoyed her positivity throughout, and think it helped her survive and come out on top. If you're a fan of the show, you may enjoy this light-hearted read too. 


I have a handful of others to review so I'll do that in another post so this one doesn't get too long. As you can see my tastes are kind of all over the place, but my favorite reads are horror and crime stories. I would love to make book reviews a regular thing around here because I'm really enjoying reading again as I've learned to set aside some time for myself to dive in to a good read. 
I love following my friends on Goodreads, so definitely add me there so I can see what you're reading too. 

What's your favorite read lately?


No comments:

Post a Comment